Award Winners 2019

(above: MADI with her award for Best Solo Act
Photo credit:
Nadine Ballantyne)

Today might be April Fool’s Day, but we know better than to try and bamboozle you with spaghetti trees and new emoji engraved 50ps.

Instead, we’d like to take the time to thank all of you for making our 2019 awards ceremony a massive success! Every year our awards become bigger and better and it’s largely down to the part every attendee, voter, judge, sponsor and act plays in our awards.

In case you missed our best awards ceremony to date, we have compiled the full list of all of the 2019 award winners here:

Best Group

Boy Azooga

Best Solo Act


Best Live Act

Boy Azooga

Best Breakthrough Act

Al Moses

Best DJs


Best EP/Single

CHROMA – “Girls Talk”

Best Producer

Romesh Dodangoda

Best Local Promoter

Liz Hunt (The Moon)

Best Regional Promoter

Clwb Ifor Bach

Promoter of the Year

Clwb Ifor Bach

Best Festival

Sŵn Festival

Best Radio Show

Bethan Elfyn (BBC Radio Wales)

Bethan Elfyn with her award for Best Radio Show.
Photo credit: Nadine Ballantyne

Lineup of the Year

Sŵn 2018

Best Independent Venue

(The award was passed onto Gwdihŵ by Clwb Ifor Bach)

Best Commercial Venue


Best Music Press

Minty’s Gig Guide to Cardiff

Best Club Night

Blue Honey

Best Music Video

CHROMA – “Girls Talk” (Trigger Happy Creative)

CHROMA with their two award wins for Best EP/Single and Best Music Video.
Photo credit: Nadine Ballantyne

Best Event Production

MusicBox Studios

Best Music Photographer

Bethan Miller

Champions of Under-represented Music

Ladies of Rage

Best Album

Boy Azooga – “1,2, Kung Fu!”

Outstanding Contribution of the Year

Daniel Minty and the Save Guildford Crescent campaign

To make sure you have your say for the 2020 award winners, make sure you follow us on Facebook, Instagram & Twitter today!