Judging Panel 2019

Judges balance out the “popular vote” by providing industry insight into the Cardiff music scene. They are not allowed to nominate or vote for any act, person or organisation they are themselves involved in or with.

All past finalists and judges were asked if they would like to participate as judges and some new judges were added due to their contribution to the Cardiff Music Scene either by contacting us or vice versa. A public call was put out to build the judging panel.

Judges for this year were:

Adam WhitmorePromoter, Tour Manager
Adam WilliamsPromoter
Aled RheonMusician
Amanda ThomasOxjam Manager ’14 (previous judge)
Benji WildMusician
Beth ElfynRadio DJ
Bill CummingsWriter
Chloe BezantPromoter
Claire VaughanArts Promoter
Craig OatsVideographer
Dan ‘Veto’ RosserDJ
Dan NicholsMusician, Promoter
Dani HewittWomen Of Music Founder
Daniel MintyPromoter, Podcaster
Daniel WoolesSound Engineer
David OwensJournalist
Dean WhittakerPromoter, Artist Manager
DJ JaffaDJ
Dr Lucy BennettPopular Music Lecturer
Eleri AngharadMusician
Francesca DimechMusician
Francis BrownPromoter
Gavin Patrick WilliamsPromoter
Gemma WhiteArts Promoter
Hannah MorganPromoter
Heledd WatkinsMusician
Helia PhoenixBlogger
Ian CottrellDJ
Jac HollowayBlogger
Jack EllisMusician
James JosephArtist Manager
Johnny Cage & The VoodoogrooveBand
Joss DayePromoter
Justin EvansWriter, Promoter
Kay RussantDJ
Kiarash ShantiDJ
Laura JohnsonWriter, Musician
Lee HouseProducer
Liam CurtinDJ
Liz HuntPromoter, Musician
Lloyd GriffithsPromoter
Lottie Summer WallondPromoter
Louise “Unique Lullaby”Blogger
Lucy SquirePopular Music Lecturer
Luke PriestleyDJ, Promoter
Maddie JonesMusician
Matthew FrederickMusician
Michael ‘Snooze’ WilliamsDJ
Nathan RoachPhotographer
Nick BrineProducer
Rebecca HurnMusician
Rich ChittyRecord Label Owner
Rob KimberPromoter, Artist Manager
Rob NicholsMusician
Rory SaundersMusician
Simon TroyPromoter
Spike GriffithsMusic Project Co-ordinator
Stacey AlfordDJ
Steffan DafyddPromoter
Teddy HunterMusician, Artist
The PitchforksBand
Thomas ReesMusician, Producer, Sound Engineer
Toby CameronVideographer
Tom AutonMusician
Tumi WilliamsMusician
Wayne CourtneyRadio DJ